Longlist of the New Welsh Writing Awards 2018 Announced (03-04-2018)

Longlist of the New Welsh Writing Awards 2018 Announced
New Welsh Review in association with Aberystwyth University is delighted to announce the longlist for the New Welsh Writing Awards 2018: The Aberystwyth University Prize for an Essay Collection.

Nine writers, both new and established, and based in Wales, England and Northern Ireland are in the running for the top prize. Themes found in work by the longlisted authors include art’s ability to endure beyond conflict – whether that is in Northern Ireland, Wales during the Second World War or in Spain during the Civil War; how literature can provide comfort and clarification to those who have hearing difficulties, and how mining has an impact across many generations of one family working below ground.

With other entries, we look at the artist’s public role, from the Victorian era, through swinging Sixties Liverpool, to contemporary Athens. We hear from a woman based in mid Wales discussing her diagnosis of autism and how, as someone who grew up here, language and perceptions of rootedness impact on her own identity as someone with neurological differences. We also learn, through a series of candid snapshots, about diabetes and depression. Elsewhere, we learn how Montaigne is the forefather of blogging, and finally how important it is, in this modern day, to keep an open door to wilderness and the spirit beyond….

New Welsh Review editor Gwen Davies judged the Awards with help from students from Aberystwyth University's Department of English and Creative Writing: Martha Casey, Lexus Ndiwe, Mikey Jones and Caitlin Hall.

Congratulations to our longlisted writers below:

Bridget Blankley (Southampton) with In the Shadow of the Mines:
A Personal Essay
Michael Cule (High Wycombe) with What Do I Know
Alex Diggins (Bristol) with Sea Change: An Argument in Six Parts
Ed Garland (Aberystwyth) with Fiction as a Hearing Aid
Katya Johnson (Aberystwyth) with On the Endurance of Art
S.A. Leavesley (Droitwich) with This < > Room
Nicholas Murray (Presteigne) with Writing and Engagement
Kerri ní Dochartaigh(Derry, N. Ireland) with That Further Shore
Rhiannon Lloyd-Williams (Machynlleth) with The Wrong Kind of Happiness

To read the adjudications and to find out more about the longlisted writers, visit our Awards website here.

more news



A brief note on copyright:all authors have given permission for their work to appear online on New Welsh Review's website. Copyright remains with the author. If you wish to reproduce part or all of any article then the permission of the author must be sought, and the author and New Welsh Review credited accordingly.

Contact us:Registered Office PO Box 170, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, SY23 1WZ - Telephone 00 (44) 1970 628410
© New Welsh Review Ltd, all rights reserved - Registered in England and Wales - Registered number: 02493828
Website design: mach2media and mopublications      Website development: Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.