BLOG Kathryn Gray


T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist 2010

The shortlist for this year's T. S. Eliot Prize has been announced. The titles selected are:

Seeing Stars - Simon Armitage (Faber)
The Mirabelles - Annie Freud (Picador)
You - John Haynes (Seren)
Human Chain - Seamus Heaney (Faber)
What the Water Gave Me - Pascale Petit (Seren)
The Wrecking Light - Robin Robertson (Picador)
Rough Music - Fiona Sampson (Carcanet)
Phantom Noise - Brian Turner (Bloodaxe)
White Egrets - Derek Walcott (Faber)
New Light for the Old Dark - Sam Willetts (Jonathan Cape)

This year's judges are noted poets Anne Stevenson (Chair), Michael Symmons Roberts and Bernadine Evaristo. The winner will be announced on 24 January 2011.

Congratulations to all those on the list, and particular congratulations go to Pascale Petit and John Haynes, representing Wales's own Seren with two quite extraordinary books. Intriguing to see who will win - and interesting that this is Pascale's third showing on the T S Eliot shortlist.

I heartily recommend that those who can attend the shortlist reading on 23 January 2011 at the Southbank. It's always a fantastic event, but tickets always fly, so book early. Details of the prize and of the readings can be found by clicking here


previous blog: From Aberystwyth to Vancouver – and back
next blog: In the Pipeline


A brief note on copyright:all authors have given permission for their work to appear online on New Welsh Review's website. Copyright remains with the author. If you wish to reproduce part or all of any article then the permission of the author must be sought, and the author and New Welsh Review credited accordingly.

Contact us:Registered Office PO Box 170, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, SY23 1WZ - Telephone 00 (44) 1970 628410
© New Welsh Review Ltd, all rights reserved - Registered in England and Wales - Registered number: 02493828
Website design: mach2media and mopublications      Website development: Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.