BLOG Gwen Davies


Literature Wales Writers' Bursaries

Glad to see that bursaries for authors will continue to feature as part of the brand new Literature Wales (formerly Academi) remit. Also that they have opened up eligibility to the authors (text rather than image) of graphic novels, with awards being offered in this category to Carol Swain for the wonderfully named, Gast, and to Huw Aeron for his retelling of the ancient Welsh epic poem Y Gododdin.

The eight successful novelists working in English are: Robert Minhinnick, working on Limestone Man, a follow up to his 2007 novel Sea Holly; Susie Wild, Cynan Jones, Lorraine Jenkin, Tia Jones, Angharad Penrhyn Jones, Julia Crompton (writing as Julia Forster), and Romy Wood. Rachel Trezise will use the time/money to work on her new collection of short stories.

Emily Hinshelwood has secured a travel grant to journey on the Heart of Wales Line, researching climate change in Wales for her new poetry collection.

New Writers' Bursaries have been awarded to: Jonathan Edwards, Richard Roberts, Angharad Penrhyn Jones, Karl Drinkwater, Huw Aaron and Mari Lisa.

The Welsh-language recipients are Gwyneth Lewis, Meic Stephens, Arwel Vittle, Aled Jones-Williams, Tudur Hallam, Alan Llwyd and Mari Lisa.


previous blog: Roland Mathias Prize 2011
next blog: West Papua


A brief note on copyright:all authors have given permission for their work to appear online on New Welsh Review's website. Copyright remains with the author. If you wish to reproduce part or all of any article then the permission of the author must be sought, and the author and New Welsh Review credited accordingly.

Contact us:Registered Office PO Box 170, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, SY23 1WZ - Telephone 00 (44) 1970 628410
© New Welsh Review Ltd, all rights reserved - Registered in England and Wales - Registered number: 02493828
Website design: mach2media and mopublications      Website development: Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.